How to Recognize Love

How does a child recognize if he is loved? I know how this five-year-old recognized it.

You Will Cry

When Jason, whom we later adopted, was five and a foster child next door, he had learned he would be moved. (You can read the history of our relationship with Jason here.) As the neighborhood children often gathered under our tree in the early summer evenings after dinner, Jason and his foster siblings gathered there that evening to tell us the news and discuss where he might be moved.  I had to pretend I didn’t know he was coming to us since the social worker said not to tell him. So I let the children discuss the issue themselves while I listened.

How to Recognize Love
Jason, still a foster child, in the tree under which we had this discussion.

 

Jason had been coming to visit us almost every day since we met in the front yard one day, and I had grown to love him. It would have hurt a lot to have my contact with him cut off. That’s why we were trying to adopt him. But it was obvious Jason knew how much we cared. He might not have known the word for love, but this is what he told me that evening:  When I leave, you are going to cry.”

Separation from a Loved One Hurts

Separation from someone you love hurts. Jason had recognized love when he saw it. He knew his leaving us would hurt, and I’d cry. He was right. Fortunately, he lived with us for a wonderful nine years before a jet ski accident separated us forever on this earth. And I cried.

So how do you know if someone loves you? Words? Gifts? Promises? I think Jason had it right. Would that person cry if you were to leave forever? Would that person continue to carry your footprints in his or her heart for life?

You can read my tribute to Jason’s memory here.

Author: Barbara Radisalvjeivc

I have been reading since the age of three, and still use books to relax or learn something new. I sold books in a store and online and on the road for a total of 30 years, and now I enjoy recommending my favorites to others.

2 thoughts on “How to Recognize Love”

  1. What a wonderful post. I’m so sorry you lost Jason, but so happy you found each other at least for a little while.

Leave a Reply

